Simple Homemade Coleslaw

29 Jun

Nothing goes better with BBQ than good old fashioned coleslaw.  We aren’t talking about the kind in a bag and a dressing that comes out of a jar either.  This is strictly business and it is going to get professional.  With July 4th right around the bend and approaching fast I thought it would be a good idea to make a nice little coleslaw, to show my American roots.  I get caught up in the moment of Independence Day.  I always have to stop myself this time of year from driving around in my husband’s truck with two full size American flags strapped to the bedside, whipping in the wind.  Toby Keith blaring from the speakers with the windows rolled down, rocking cut off jean shorts, aviator shades, and drinking an RC Cola.

I take this holiday very seriously.  I feel like it is one of the only ones that is not over done through the consumer industry.  It is all about the food and the fireworks.  Give me a burger with a side of S’mores and a sparkler and we are talking.   You will not hear a peep out of me the rest of the evening, scouts honor.  I will slip gently into a food comma and ogle my sparkler and the world will drift away.

I’m in summertime mode now so hold onto your yellow teeth.  Things are going to get rampant around here.

Use a food processor to shred everything.  It makes it so much easier!

Also, bust out that food processor for the dressing as well.  It gets the onion all pureed down and mixes so nicely.

Give it all a good shake into a mason jar.  Simple dress the cabbage mix right before serving.  The remainder of the dressing is still good for another 5 days.

Simple Homemade Coleslaw

  • ½ heads Green Cabbage
  • ½ heads Purple Cabbage
  • ½ whole Onion
  • 1 bunch Radishes, Sliced
  • 4 whole Carrots
  • 2 stalks Celery
  • 1  FOR THE DRESSING:
  • ½ Onion
  • 1 cup Nonfat Greek Yogurt
  • 1/4 Cup olive oil mayonnaise
  • ½ cups Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon Pepper
  • ½ teaspoons Sea Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Sugar
  • ½ teaspoons Celery Salt

In a food processor with a slicing attachment slice cabbages, onion, carrots, and celery. This may have to be done in several batches. Set aside in a large bowl.

In a mini food processor combine all dressing ingredients and process until combined and the onion is creamed into mixture. Taste and adjust seasoning and vinegar as needed.

Dress the cabbage right before serving it so that it does not get soggy.

Make sure you serve it with my beans!!!! recipe right ova here

 

Leave a comment