Cranberry BBQ Sauce & Pulled Turkey Sandwiches

25 Nov

Did you all survive the dreaded black Friday?  I personally turned into a hermit.  Seriously.  I didn’t ever leave the house that entire day.  The sheer fear, dread, and anxiety of being trampled to death had me hold up like a recluse, refusing the venture out into the wild unknown.  I decorated from Christmas instead.  It was perfect.

Lets talk some leftovers.  I know…I know…I’m still at it.

But what would happen if we lazily combined leftover cranberry sauce and BBQ sauce?  Magnificence.  That’s what.  I decided I was going to turn that turkey sandwich into a sort of pulled turkey meets cranberry meets BBQ sauce amazingness. It worked.  Thank heavens.  I would have been REALLY angry had I wasted my remaining ration of cranberry sauce.

This is one of those super easy meals that comes together in about 15 minutes.  It could easily be changed up with chicken.  Speed up prep time and you could buy one of those rotisserie chickens from your local store, shred the meat, and viola, dinner is served on a hectic weeknight!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There ain’t nothing wrong with that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It goes like this: For 4 Sammies

2 parts your favorite BBQ sauce to 1 part cranberry sauce.

  • 1 cup BBQ Sauce (I Like Trader Joe’s)
  • ½ cups Cranberrry Sauce
  • 4 whole Whole Wheat Buns, Toasted
  • ¼ cups Turkey Or Chicken Stock
  • 2 cups Cooked Shredded Chicken Or Turkey
  • ½ cups Sliced Purple Onions
  • 1 cup Spinach
  • 1 whole Avocado, Sliced

In a small saucepan combine BBQ sauce and cranberry sauce. Heat through, taste and adjust as needed.

Meanwhile, in another saucepan add turkey meat with broth. Heat through.

Serve on whole wheat buns and make into sandwiches. Slather cranberry BBQ sauce over meat, and pile on buns. Top with your favorite toppings; such as spinach, purple onions, and avocado.

 

Leave a comment