Asian Turkey Lettuce Wraps

27 Jun

Heyy Yo.  No it’s not been raining in the Pacific Northwest for the ENTIRE month of June.  My skin is not completely translucent.  I don’t resemble a mole coming out of her hole when I finally catch a glimpse of sunshine.  Eyes squinting and darting around.  My hair isn’t completely matted down to the side of my head, looking eternally dank and soggy because of all the pelting rain I’ve been trudging through.  I haven’t forgotten what it is like to wear shorts and actually be hot.  I think if I ever did wear shorts again my legs would serve as a sort of reflective shield and richoect any sunlight off unto innocent passers-by, rays ablaze, perpetually blinding them in its devastating wake.

But, I do have these lettuce wraps to make me think and dream of summer.  They are so light and tasty.  Bring a little summer indoors, if Mother Nature doesn’t want to give us summer in Washington. Oh, and if you are in other parts of the country where there are wild fires, and record heat waves, I apologize for my gripe session.  Adieu.

I haven’t been very adventous when it comes to cooking Asian cuisine.  Nevada cowgirl and Asian flare didn’t really meet until I loaded the wagon and headed North.  But, here I am trying new things, getting wild again.  This one is a keeper folks.

Enjoy.

Asian Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • FOR THE SAUCE:
  • ¾ cups Low Sodium Soy Sauce
  • 2 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 3 Tablespoons Hoisin Sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon Ginger, Peeled And Minced
  • 3 Tablespoons Cilantro, Minced
  • 3 Tablespoons White Wine Vinegar
  • 3 Tablespoons Sesame Seeds, Toasted
  • FOR THE WRAPS:
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 whole Onion, Diced
  • 5 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 pound Organic Ground Turkey
  • 2 whole Carrots, Sliced
  • 2 stalks Celery, Chopped
  • 1 whole Red Bell Pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup Snap Peas, Cut In 1/2
  • 2 Tablespoons Ginger, Peeled And Minced
  • ¼ cups Water,as Needed For Thickeness
  • 1 cup Mung Bean Sprouts
  • 3 Tablespoons Green Onion (chopped)
  • 3 Tablespoons Peanuts, Chopped
  • 1 head Bibb Lettuce, For Serving

In mason jar combine all ingredients for the sauce.  Give it a good shake and set it in fridge until ready to use.

In a large cast iron skillet over medium high heat add oil, onion, and garlic. Let bloom 2 minutes. Add in turkey. Cook until turkey is done.

Add in carrots, celery, pepper, peas, and ginger. Add in 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup reserved sauce. Let this mixture cook another 5 minutes.

Add in bean sprouts and cook another 2 minutes until all veggies are cooked through.

Assemble wraps. Place a leaf of lettuce, fill with 1/2 cup of turkey mixture. Top with sauce, green onions, and peanuts. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from foodnetwork.com

2 Responses to “Asian Turkey Lettuce Wraps”

  1. Gillian August 26, 2012 at 5:17 am #

    Love your blog Adrienne:)!! This is Gillian, Kristina Linkems neighbor;)! These were delicious, just made them tonight for the hubby!! All your stuff always looks so tasty!!! Thanks for sharing all these yummy things!!!

    • adriennerhea August 27, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      Hi Gillian! Thank you so much for your sweet words. I hope you will enjoy them. I’ve been having so much fun with my blog and I’m so excited I can share yummy, somewhat healthy recipes. I hope all is well!

Leave a comment